Like a pre-arranged funeral, Facebook lets you decide ahead of time, what will happen to your Facebook account once you've passed away.  You can choose to have your account deleted or have it "memorialize", meaning it will stay live, but will have a "Remembering" label above your name. 

Select a trusted family member or friend who has a Facebook account, and when you've passed away, they notify Facebook. They will be required to supply proper documentation, typically with a link to an online obituary or news article. Facebook will then memorialize the account or delete it, as per your request. 

Click on image to enlarge

Click on image to enlarge

If you opt to have your profile memorialized,  your legacy contact will be able to:

  • Write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline (for example, to announce a memorial service or share a special message)
  • Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook.
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo

How to set a legacy contact:

From the drop-down tab on your profile, select "Settings", then select "Security" from the options on the left, then select "Legacy Contact".

From the drop-down tab on your profile, select "Settings", then select "Security" from the options on the left, then select "Legacy Contact".

Open your settings. Choose Security and then Legacy Contact at the bottom of the page. After choosing your legacy contact, you’ll have the option to send them a message. 

You may give your legacy contact permission to download an archive of the posts, photos and profile info you’ve shared on Facebook.

Comment